Araraume, Ibezim Divides APC Caretaker Committee

Ahead of the December 5 scheduled date for Imo North Senatorial By-election, the leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) appears to be divided who between Senator Ifeanyi Araraume and Frank Ibezim flies the ticket of the party.

Altough the party has submitted the name of Senator Araraume in deference to recent court ruling, members of the Caretaker Committee appears to be divided with majority of the CECPC in favour of Araraume.

Even so, Ibezim is said to be battling for his political life having appealed the matter . He was declared winner at the primary but a federal high court in Owerri reversed it and listed Araraume.

It was found that a few member of the committee led by former President of the Senate, Senator Ken Nnamani is backing Ibezim, while a sizeable majority of the members are said to have queued behind Senator Ararume for the ticket of the party, who we hear has the backing of the APC governors ,

Investigations conducted by Independent newspapers however suggests that the division in the Caretaker Committee, which has the firm backing of the APC governors, may not be unconnected with the role played by Senator Hope Uzodinma, governor of Imo state during the leadership crisis that swept Comrade Adams Oshiomhole out of office.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *